Visual Exploration: Typography

To start the typographic element of visual exploration, we were instructed to communicate different types of dogs through type. This was to demonstrate the different aspects that a typeface is made up of, which are…

  1. Weight – Bold, Regular, Light etc.
  2. Size – The point size – how big it is on the page (pt – how type used to be measured when printing)
  3.  Serif or Sans Serif (Sans = no/without)
  4. UPPERCASE, lowercase or Upper-lower case.
  5. Position/Composition (Where it is placed on a page)

..and why we should consider these. For example, why serif typefaces communicate sophistication, yet sans serif communicate a more laid-back, informal feel. It is to do with where we see these types of type – we see serif typefaces in books mostly, hence pointing to a more intelligent and sophisticated feel of communication.
Almost instinctively, for a ‘friendly dog’ (the first task), I chose a rounded style of font. I did make it too illustrative, but the roundness communicates a kind of gentleness – in the sense that angles do not look approachable, as they look hard and not soft – as if could hurt oneself.

IN DESIGN EXAMPLES

Click the images for annotations.

Through the above experimentations I came to the conclusion that the final image shown should be used as my final typographic poster.

I used the techniques such as the ‘blink test’, to see which words my eyes saw and therefore read first. I also asked other people who hadn’t seen it, or hadn’t seen it very much, for critique on it, as well as printing out pages to test whether they worked compared to on-screen.

“One cannot think well, if one has not dined well”
I chose this particular quote about food because I feel it ties in to my focus of mental health within our subject of food. I also particularly wanted to place the words rather jumbled up, to further communicate what the quote is saying visually.

I found it challenging at first, especially placing the words around on the page yet maintaining the correct order in which to be read. But through practise and experimentation I feel that I have eventually been able to understand type a lot more, and create a successful piece.

Leave a Reply

