Visual Exploration: Screenprint

The first half of my screenprinting is all in my sketchbook – this follows from when I was actually printing the image.

The above are images I took whilst in the screen-printing room, during the process of printing.
I printed on to a total of 12 pieces of paper, 2 of which were classed as better paper/more expensive, as the paper was thicker (gsm).
For the colours, I shared the pink/peach with Katie, so we mixed that together using a sepia paint and adding white in to lighten it, with some magenta as well to make it pinker. We made this approximately 1/3 of a cup before adding the clear printing medium to the remaining 2/3. I did the same again for my darker colour for the lines, except I added black to my sepia to make it darker and a bit less transparent.

These are 3 of the images I thought were the most successful…

Two are on the regular paper, and one is on the better paper. (it has a yellow tint to it)

The first image (top) I actually think I like the most, because even though the pink/peach colour did not print properly, I quite like the effect it has created – a slightly broken, decaying effect. I feel this in a way ties in to the message of the print, and especially the ‘BREAKABLE’ text. However I feel it could also be viewed as badly printed, so I didn’t choose this one.

The next image (left) is on the better quality paper, and came close to me choosing it because of the paper and also the print quality.
However I feel that although it is on the standard paper, the one that is printed the best and therefore is the one I have chosen as my final is the last image (right). The lines and block of colour are aligned almost perfectly, and it has printed with not too much ink and not too little.

Overall this is my favourite piece of work from my Visual Exploration project, because I feel it is successful both for the above reasons and because I feel it communicates its message well – which is referencing mental health, the walnut being compared to a human brain. Walnuts are also good for the brain, and they have similarities visually – hence using them as a metaphor. I also enjoyed the process of screen-printing, and would like to revisit it. I think I have become more confident in my illustrative abilities also.

SCAN_human heads
Scan of the final print
Leave a Reply

